APRIL Youth Talks

APRIL understands that across the country youth and young adults is the hot topic. Many Centers for Independent Living and Statewide Independent Living Councils are unsure how to get youth involved.  This year we have asked our youth expert mentors to present on topics that could assist your goals of starting a program or growing the existing youth involvement you may already have. 

Every other month we will have one mentor present on a topic that is often discussed in our Youth Peer to Peer Mentoring for $50 per site per training or $35 for APRIL members, or check out the annual rates!  The mentor will present for the first part and second part will be an opportunity for an open discussion amongst all callers on that topic.  During that time, we can brainstorm, share experiences, and ask questions while we learn from each other with the guidance of our mentor. We understand that not everyone is at the point in their CIL or SILC to have a Youth Peer to Peer, but we want to support and assist the best way we can with these calls. 

We hope that you will join us and if you would like more of an individual experience or training you can contact our Youth Programs Coordinator, Sierra Royster at 919.567.3602 or april-sierra@att.net .

Save the Dates! All presentations for 2018 will be 2:00-3:30pm EST (1:00-2:30pm CST, 12:00-1:30pm MST, 11:00am-12:30pm PST)

  • October 3, 2018 - Susan Cervellera - Disability History
  • December 5, 2018 - Grant Heffelfinger - LGBTQ+ Community

Member Rates: Annual Rate (registering and paying for all 6 trainings in the series): $180
Per Training Rate: $35

Non-Member Rates: Annual Rate (registering and paying for all 6 trainings in the series): $250
Per Training Rate: $50

Register today @  https://april-rural.org/