Listening Session on Notice Of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) regarding the Accessibility of Web Information and Services for State and Local Government (Title II entities)

Training Source: 
Other
Beginning Date: 
09/26/2023
End Date: 
09/26/2023
Type of Training: 
Webinar/Teleconference
Partner/Sponsor: 

There is still time to register for the upcoming “Listening Session” with representatives from the Disability Rights Section of the U.S. Department of Justice regarding their Notice Of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) regarding the Accessibility of Web Information and Services for State and Local Government (Title II entities).    DOJ issued the NPRM on July 25th with public comments due no later than October 3, 2023.   Individuals have a variety of options for submitting comments including electronically and in writing.   This session provides individuals an opportunity to give verbal comments to DOJ via the Listening Session format.

Details:   Registration link  (registration deadline is 9/25/2023 or until maximum registration is reached)  Individuals must establish an account on our website in order to register.

Method:   Via Zoom

Date:   September 26, 2023

Time:   3-4:30pm ET/2-3:30pm CT/1-2:30pm MT/12-1:30pm PT

Description:  The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) issued a "Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on Accessibility of Web Information and Services of State and Local Government Entities" (NPRM) on July 25, 2023. This NPRM proposes a specific technical standard that state and local governments would have to follow to meet their existing obligations under Title II of the ADA for web and mobile app accessibility. The NPRM asks the public for comments about this proposal. To this end, the Great Lakes ADA Center in collaboration with the ADA National Network are hosting a "Listening Session" with representatives from the Disability Rights Section, U.S. Department of Justice regarding the proposed rule

Individuals are invited to join this session and share your thoughts in support or against any or all of these proposed regulations. This is not a Q&A session. The Department of Justice will not discuss or be able to respond to any questions during this session. The intent is for DOJ to hear from interested persons and entities. This session will not be recorded and there are no continuing education recognition credits available for this session.

Participants are encouraged to review the NPRM in advance of the session as well as the Fact Sheet on the NPRM prepared by DOJ in order to be prepared to comment.

This session will have Real-Time Captioning and Sign Language Interpreters Available.

Contact 877-232-1990 or email webinars@adaconferences.org with questions.