Alabama Alaska American Samoa Guam Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut District of Columbia Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Marianas Islands North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Puerto Rico Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Virgin Islands Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

ILRU Directory of Centers for Independent Living (CILs) and Associations - 2014 (Vol. 36)

Submit Additions or Corrections to the Directory

Submit information on a new center for independent living or personnel, address or phone number listing changes in your center by using the link above and completing the online form.

Definition of a Center for Independent Living from Section 702 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended:

CENTER FOR INDEPENDENT LIVING ‑ The term "center for independent living" means a consumer‑controlled, community‑based, cross‑disability, nonresidential private nonprofit agency that is designed and operated within a local community by individuals with disabilities and provides an array of independent living services.

A Center for Independent Living:

51% of staff are persons with disabilities; 51% of Board of Directors are persons with disabilities; and provides four core services:

  1. Information & referral
  2. Independent living skills training
  3. Individual and systems advocacy
  4. Peer counseling

© ILRU Program 1978. Richards, Laurel, Nosek, Peg, and Zhu, Yilin (Editors): Directory of Independent Living Centers & Related Organizations. The ILRU Directory includes the contact information for centers for independent living and their satellites or branches for each state and U.S. Territory. All listings are in alphabetical order by state/city. Beginning with the 1995 volume, an additional Directory is available for statewide independent living councils (SILCs) in each state and U.S. Territory.